Resurrection Boulevard

Hola!

It is downright CHILLY up here in NYC, and time to bust out the winter clothing. Usually I would go shopping and add some fun staples to my existing wardrobe. But because times are tough, I am spending some time repairing or updating clothing I ALREADY own. I feel every woman in America has a bag of clothes and shoes in her closet that she “means” to fix, whether a blazer needs a new button, or boots need to be resoled. Often times that “fix-it” bag can sit in the closet for seasons. 

I recommend dusting it off THEN dropping it off at the tailors or shoe repair store, pronto! I bet you can get almost a new wardrobe for under $100.

An even smarter option would be to mend those duds yourself. If you know how to sew but the thought of sewing sounds as much fun a washing dishes, why not invite a crafty friend over, pop open a bottle of wine, and make it into party? Like a “scrapbooking” night, but cooler.

If you can’t even sew a button on a shirt, there’s no better time to take up a new hobby! Make a date with a sewing savvy friend who can show you some easy tailoring tricks. Who knows, maybe a budding fashion designer will be born…

I myself am headed over to my friend Pepa’s house to try and make a sweater modeled after my favorite new one I found at Beacon’s Closet— a POSHTASTIC thrift store here in Brooklyn.

See photo below. Ignore my windswept hair and instead focus on the SLEEVES, how cool are they? Essentially this is a slouchy grey turtleneck with super fun-fitted sleeves from ANOTHER sweater sewn on at the elbow. This is a clever (and eco-chic!) way to get use out of an old sweater. I couldn’t find a label on mine,  but this seems beyond easy to make. Or so I think….

 


I’ll let you know how the line comes out….

Besos, xxoooo

Robyn

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

